What I learnt from being a director at Women Who Code

Stuti Verma
3 min readMay 4, 2021
Women Who Code event at Google, Gurgaon office on January 11, 2020

This title seems to be flashy but I am writing this more in accordance with the role of a community organiser and how I function.

I attended my first meetup in May 2017(fact-checked) organised by a city chapter of an international non-profit named Women Who Code that aims to support women excel in their technology careers. The topic dealt was building an image caption generator using Python and Tensorflow delivered by Abi. I was in a rush to attend it anyway because I felt bad about not attending the previous one. It was a tough one to follow through but interesting enough that I looked for it later.

Since then, I have been working on new projects and learning new technologies on-the-go. Here are some of my secular pointers as a director at Women Who Code-Delhi:

  1. Go-getter attitude: Whether I know it or not, have done it in the past or not, I don’t shy away in giving it a try. Even if I fail at it, I would look for solutions and better approaches to success but I can’t sit back and do nothing about it.
  2. Talk it out: From tiny problems to large ones, I feel absolutely comfortable to say, ‘ Hey, how is it done? ’ or ‘ I’m sorry I don’t know this. Could you please explain?’. Connecting with unknown organisers for a possible collaboration in community or making difficult conversations happen, it’s the drive for a good future.
  3. Idea Magnet: Generating ideas on your own, listening to other ideas, mixing in a bunch of them, rejecting some and ending with a product to work upon and implement.
  4. Decisiveness: Eternal solutioning or a quick-fix, making decisions by keeping scenarios and people in purview. Making choices for yourself and your team so that it works for most people because ‘You can’t please all.’
  5. Being a director: Respect and authority comes along with designations. But it doesn’t guarantees it. Bringing your team together to work in sync and harmony gives a sense of joy. When your people are happy, they work for abstract work pleasures. They respect and give you the sense of authority not because you demand it but because they want to.
  6. Power of words: When you listen to others, you give them power to be heard. Practicing freedom of speech in team is healthy but as a Chinese proverb says, ‘ Your right to swing your arms ends just where the other person’s nose begins.’ Being critical is being judicious and give a positive feedback. Handle conversations delicately because it involves people and people are the most important part of a community.
  7. Convert anger: If there was a situation that made me angry, I would convert it to logical statements and keep conversations polite. Showing my fury is just not worthy in words. They should better see me in action, when I do better than their stupid remarks.
  8. Dealing with Capricious: In this last three(almost) years, promises are made on both ends. Some get delivered, some don’t. It’s okay to just move on without cursing anyone. But yes, remember what have they done and let others know(especially your team) about situations. Looking at it from different perspectives can result in different arguments either in your favour or against.
  9. Respect time and space: If someone is giving you time and space to your existence, respect it! Don’t take it for granted! At the very least not for long :/ Let wisdom come to you, one day!
  10. Learn from others: You may have a designation but it doesn’t say that you should be a ‘know-it-all’ prick. Be open to suggestions, ideas, approach, technology things, geek talks (only if you want), career advices and all things to make your life better.
  11. Listen to yourself: Coz sometimes you know it better than anyone else :)

I can add numerous points in this article but it has to end somewhere. I think this is all for today. More thinking and reflections some other day. Ciao!

--

--